FG Approves Take-off Of 4 Specialised Universities, With An Initial Grant Of N18bn

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the establishment of new universities of technology and health sciences with a take-off grant of N18billion.

the Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu, who made the  Announcement on Monday in Abuja said the approval was to fulfill President Buhari’s promise to establish an apex National Institute of Technology (NIT) in Abuja with six satellite Universities of Technology, one in each of the six geo-political zones of the country.

The minister, who was represented by the permanent secretary, Arc. Sonny Ochono, said the new Universities of Technology will be established in 2021 while the upgrade of the existing four Universities of Technology and the National Institute of Technology will come on board in 2022.
He said, “After a comprehensive review of the policy by key stakeholders in the education sector, it was resolved that the four (Anos) existing Universities ofTechnology located in Yola (North East), Akure (South West), Owerri (South East) and Minna (North Central) be upgraded and equipped while two  additional Universities of Technology to be located in Jigawa and Akwa Ibom States, would be established for the same purpose.

“To ensure early take-off of these institutions, Mr President approved a take-off grant of N4 Billion each for the Universities of Technology and N5 billion each for the Universities of Health Science from the funding Resources of Tetfund,” he added.

The universities of technology will be located at Jigawa and Akwa Ibom States, while the universities of health sciences will be located in Azare, Bauchi State and Ila Orangun, Osun State. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *